State Chapters

TACF Meetings & Events Schedule

Chapters are the heart and members are the soul of The American Chestnut Foundation

The American Chestnut Foundation currently has 16 chapters located in Alabama, the Carolinas, Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts/Rhode Island, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Vermont/New Hampshire, Virginia and West Virginia. Chapter volunteers contribute time and energy supporting regional breeding programs, independent research, local education programs, and member recruitment, often at their own expense.

The TACF chapter system is growing in proportion to the increasing level of local enthusiasm for helping to restore the King of the Forest. The chapter system helps preserve the regional diversity of the American chestnut throughout its original range, which spanned from Maine to Georgia, and possibly even to Florida, and west to the Mississippi River. Each tree had a genetic make up that evolved to enhance its survival. From flowering early in the south, to cold-weather resistance in the north, each region was unique. Preserving the genetic material of the American chestnut is crucial to TACF's effort to breed a blight-resistant tree. TACF volunteer members work diligently toward this effort. They pollinate and harvest surviving trees and plant regional orchards of backcrossed seedlings. Chapters maximize resources at the local level, develop programs uniquely designed to each region, and promote our mission - to restore the King of the Forest to its native woodlands along the eastern United States.

Please contact your chapter representative to learn about opportunities in your
area to help restore the King of the Forest.

Click here for Science Contacts

State Chapters  

ALABAMA CHAPTER
Alabama News
Jack Agricola, President
(256) 478-1786 agprop@bellsouth.net  

CAROLINAS CHAPTER
Carolinas Website
Doug Gillis, President
(704) 542-0627
tacfcarolinas@acf.org or dgillis001@carolina.rr.com

CONNECTICUT CHAPTER
Connecticut Website
John Anderson, President
johnanderson7440@sbcglobal.net

Kendra Gurney, NE Regional Science Coordinator
802-999-8706
kendra@acf.org

GEORGIA CHAPTER
Georgia Website
Mark Stoakes, President
770-319-9196
ga@acf.org or mstoakes@hotmail.com

INDIANA CHAPTER
Indiana Website
Ben Finegan, IN Chapter President
317-409-2933
docfinny@gmail.com
18784 Durbin Rd.
Noblesville, IN 46060

KENTUCKY CHAPTER

KY-TACF Website
Lynn Garrison, KY-TACF President
(502) 845-2371
lynn.garrison@earthlink.net

MAINE CHAPTER
Maine-TACF Website
Glen Rea, President
mainetacf@gmail.com
231 Buck Street
Bangor, ME 04401

MARYLAND CHAPTER
MD-TACF Website
Bruce Levine, President
MD-TACF President
mdchapter@acf.org

MASSACHUSETTS/RHODE ISLAND CHAPTER
MA/RI-TACF Website
Yvonne Federowicz, President
36 Hawthorne St
North Providence, RI 02904
yvonne.federowicz@gmail.com

Kathy Desjardin, Secretary
508-278-3565
machapter@acf.org

NEW YORK CHAPTER
New York Chapter News
Herbert F. Darling, NY Chapter President
716-632-1125, hdarling@hfdarling.com
131 California Drive
Williamsville, NY 14221



TACF Meetings & Events Schedule



PowerPoint Presentation:
TACF Chapter Updates
TACF Chapters Meeting
Black Mountain, NC
March 17, 2012

 

 

Return to Top

OHIO CHAPTER
Ohio Website
Dr. Brian Mc Carthy, President
mccarthy@ohio.edu

PENNSYLVANIA/ NEW JERSEY CHAPTER
PA-TACF Website
Stephanie Bailey, Chapter Administrator
syb5206@psu.edu

Sara Fitzsimmons, Tree Breeding Coordinator
Sara@acf.org or sff3@psu.edu
206 Forest Resources Lab
University Park, PA 16802
814-863-7192 (o) 814-863-3600 (f)

TENNESSEE CHAPTER
TN-TACF Website
Joe Schibig, President
(615) 426-4774
lschibig@gmail.com

VERMONT/NEW HAMPSHIRE CHAPTER
VT/NH News
Yurij Bihun, President
shelterwoodsystems@comcast.net

Kendra Gurney, New England Regional Science Coordinator
kendra@acf.org
Northern Research Station
Forest Service, U.S. Department  of Agriculture, 705 Spear Street
South Burlington, VT 05403
802-999-8706 (o) 802-951-6368 (f)

VIRGINIA CHAPTER
Virginia Website
Virginia Chapter Office
PO Box 158
Marshall, VA 20116
(540) 364-1922
vachestnut@verizon.net

John LaMonica, President
(540) 364-1922 jlamonica@peoplepc.com

WEST VIRGINIA CHAPTER
West Virginia News
Brian Perkins, WV-TACF President

Other State Contacts

THE OZARK INITIATIVE
Arkansas, Missouri, & Oklahoma Contact
Susan and Gerry Cormier
501-605-0387, gcormier@att.net
477 Old Country Lane
Cabot, AR 72023

CALIFORNIA CONTACT
Bernard Monahan
925-846-2296, bernmonahn@aol.com
1620 Loganberry Way
Pleasanton, CA 94566

WISCONSIN CONTACT
Dr. Cameron Gundersen M.D.
3539 Ebner Coulee Road
La Crosse, WI 54601
608-782-4842

Science Contacts:

Meadowview Research Farms
276-944-4631
Dr. Fred Hebard - Chief Scientist

Pennsylvania State University
814-863-7192
Sara Fitzsimmons - North Central Regional Science Coordinator

New England Regional Office
802-999-8706
Kendra Gurney - New England Regional Science Coordinator

Mid-Atlantic Regional Office
434-906-9312
Matt Brinckman -Mid-Atlantic Regional Science Coordinator

Southern Regional Office
Tom Saielli -Southern Regional Science Coordinator